Know the Course: the Memorial Tournament at Muirfield Village GC

    WagerEdge is a leading provider of free premium sports betting content from fans and bettors of dedicated sports. Our weekly award winning Know the Course golf segment gives PGA fans and bettors everything they need to know about the course and tournament in one consolidated location. Here we preview the Memorial Tournament at Muirfield Village GC in Dublin, OH. Course facts, tournament facts, previous winners, 2021 final leaderboard, 2022 betting favorite, odds, weather forecast. Learn who founded and designed the course, grass type, par and yardage, trophy name, purse, prize money, and FedEx Cup points the field can earn. Key tournament facts, record setting performances, rankings, low scores, multiple winners. Let WagerEdge prepare you to bet on golf!

    Location: Dublin, OH
    Course: Muirfield Village Golf Club
    Architect: Jack Nicklaus and Desmond Muirhead (1974)
    Grass: Bentgrass
    Par: 72
    Yardage: 7,533
    2021 Winner: Patrick Cantlay (-14) in playoff over Collin Morikawa
    2021 Cut Line: +2
    Field: 120 Players
    Cut: Low 70 scores with ties
    2022 Favorites: Jon Rahm (+1000) & Rory McIlroy (+1100)
    Purse: $12M (1st gets $2.16M)
    Trophy: Custom Waterford Crystal trophy
    Weather Forecast:

    Course Facts

    • The course was designed by Jack Nicklaus and opened on Memorial Day in 1974
    • It gets its name from Muirfield, Scottland, where Nicklaus won his 1st British Open in 1966 to complete his 1st career grand slam
    • Nicklaus hoped to provide his hometown of Columbus with its own PGA TOUR-caliber event, taking inspiration from Bobby Jones’ formulation of Augusta National Golf Club and the Masters
    • Muirfield Village Golf Club (MVGC) ranks #12 on Golfweek’s Best list of modern courses in the U.S. built after 1960
    • It’s the #1 private course in Ohio and has hosted the Memorial since 1976
    • MVGC hosted the Ryder Cup in 1987
    • Renovation in 2020 included rebuilding of all 18 greens, relocation of several greens, contour changes on greens, rebuilding bunkers, leveling and seeding tees, relocating several tees, and renovating and seeding fairways
    • Average green size of 5,000 sq/ft, 68 sand bunkers, and 13 water hazards

    Tournament Facts

    • Roger Maltbie won the inaugural Memorial Tournament in 1976, defeating Hale Irwin in a four-hole aggregate playoff
    • Tiger Woods has won the Memorial Tournament a record 5 times (1999, 2000, 2001, 2009, 2012)
    • Including Tiger, 7 players have won multiple times — Kenny Perry (3x) and Jack Nicklaus, Hale Irwin, Greg Norman, Tom Watson, and Patrick Cantlay (all 2x)
    • The tournament scoring record is held by Tom Lehman who shot -20 (268) in 1994
    • Tiger Woods holds the record for biggest victory, winning in 2001 by 7 strokes
    • The worst round of Tiger Woods’ professional career was shot in 2015 during the 3rd round with an 85



    Stay in touch

    To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.

    - Advertisement -spot_img